Becoming a Fishmonger

In 2007 I created a fresh fish buying club at Rubiner’s Cheesemongers and Grocers in my small land-locked community in western Massachusetts.  Having worked in restaurants and graduating from culinary school, I had a strong passion for food but was less educated in that of the sea.  I dove in and read any book or article pertaining to fish and seafood, watched countless videos and experimented with and cooked whatever I could get my hands on.  I also attended many events, tastings, and demonstrations relating to fish and seafood.  In 2011 I was awarded the Jean-Louis Palladin Grant to study with renowned Browne Trading Company of Portland, Maine.  Upon receiving this honor, I knew my career belonged to fish and I had found my path.

Austin

Leave a Reply

