A Belated Happy New Year

This holiday season was absolutely and unequivocally the most intense I’ve had as a butcher. We had over 300 orders, not including walk-ins, for the 2 of us to fill. I lost count of rib roasts and filets early in the season. I’m happy that we, such a small, local operation, are doing that kind of business. However, I am in conversations with my scientist friends concerning pills to make me grow more arms…

The life of a butcher during the holiday season goes something like this: report to work 8am, work until 1am, report back to work at 8am. Repeat for 2-3 weeks. Luckily, I have amazing friends and a lady who are able to deal with my insanity and lack of sleep. I’m not the typical grumpy butcher. My boss, however… 😉

The aforementioned rib roast, with short ribs still attached. Simply beautiful.

The aforementioned rib roast, with short ribs still attached. Simply beautiful.

 

 

 

Synchronized shanking

Synchronized shanking

 

 

 

 

 

Possibly the best picture ever taken of me.

Possibly the best picture ever taken of me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Astounding porterhouses I cut for a local restaurant, Latitude 41.

Astounding porterhouses I cut for a local restaurant, Latitude 41.

We are going to be extraordinarily busy in the coming months, as we are hosting a variety of classes in the market; offal, lamb cutting, beef cutting, farm to table, goat cutting, sausage making. See http://www.bluescreekfarmmeats.com/ for more details if you are in the Columbus area.

More posts soon.

One Comment on “A Belated Happy New Year”

  1. candace m. says:

    gimme dat porterhouse.


Leave a Reply

